Pan men pick De Fosto

Saturday, January 12 2008

TOP STEELBANDS have made “Latin on de Court”, composed by De Original De Fosto Himself (Winston Scarborough) one of the most popular calypsos of the 2008 Panorama competition. The other favoured tune is Chucky’s “Thunder”.

Those selections will be played by six bands each in the preliminaries of the National Panorama competition which takes place on January 20 at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port-of-Spain. Closely following in popularity are “Puncinelly”, also by De Fosto, “Celeration Time” by Steve Sealy and “Pimpilum Pilum” by Shadow. As preparations for the competition move into high gear, several of the large conventional bands have finalised their musical arrangers. Ace arranger Robert Greenidge has been given full charge of arranging Tony Prescott’s “Ten Commandments of Pan” for champion Laventille band, Witco Desperadoes. Last year, because of commitments overseas, Greenidge had assistant arrangers doing some of the work for him. This year he will be handling the total arrangement. Anise Hadeed will be arranging for PCS Starlift, replacing Ray Holman who had a fall out with the band’s management.

Holman, who confirmed that he was no longer working with the band, told Newsday yesterday: “We just don’t see eye to eye.” Holman may be working with fellow arranger Len “Boogsie” Sharpe at the Phase II Pan Groove’s panyard.

The following is the latest list from Pan Trinbago regarding bands, their arrangers and tunes of choice. Panorama tunes of choice Band Arranger(s) Tune Artist(s) Antillean All Stars Glen “Zola” Williams Celebration Time Steve Sealy Arima Angel Harps Godwin Bowen Latin On De Court De Fosto Belmont 5th Dimension Clive Telemaque Celebration Time Steve Sealey Birdsong Eddie Quarless Pimpilum Pilum Shadow Blue Diamonds Len “Boogsie” Sharpe Musical Vengeance Anslem Douglas Carib Dixieland (Tobago) Len ‘Boogsie’ Sharpe Puncinelly De Fosto/Superblue Casablanca Martin Cain/Damyon Alexander Fiery Maestro Claytones Anthony Rose Pan in Paradise Derrick Seales Couva Joylanders Kenrick Frederick Latin on de Court De Fosto Curepe Scherzando Douglas Redon Fever Kitchener Desperadoes Robert Greenidge Ten Commandments of Pan Tony Precott Exodus Pelham Goddard Puncinelly DeFosto/Superblue Fascinators Pan Symphony Lennox “Madman” Jordan Pimpulum Pilum Shadow Five Rivers Modern Symphony Keith Salcedo Get Down Anthony Johnson Fonclaire Darren Sheppard Heat Crazy Harmonites Earl La Pierre Sailors On De Road Roger George Humming Bird Pan Groove Michael Cupidore/Murchison Jules/Wilton Williams Get Down Anthony Johnson Invaders Arddin Herbert Thunder Chucky Katzenjammers (Tobago) Mark Mosca Thunder Chucky Laventille Sound Specialists Ken ‘Professor’ Philmore Hooked Destra Garcia Lee Chung’s Pan Glow Amrit Samaroo Heat Crazy Metro Stars (Tobago) Cory Codrington The Will Scrunter Melodians Terrence ‘BJ’ Marcelle Latin On De Court De Fosto Merrytones Seion Gomez Musical Vengeance Anslem Douglas Mt Moriah Pan Movement Dane ‘Rosco’ Hinds The Woman Luv U Fuh So Crazy NLCB Buccooneers (Tobago) Seion Gomez Hooked Destra Garcia Our Boys (Tobago) Roger Sardinha Mystery Band Lord Kitchener Pamberi Brian Villafana Pressure Derick Seales Pan Knights Duvonne Stewart Puncinelly De Fosto Pandemonium Brian ‘Bean Griffith Celebration time Steve Sealy Parry’s Pan School Selwyn ‘Parry’ Paul Dead & Dread Derrick Seales Phase II Pan Groove Len ‘Boogsie’ Sharpe Musical Vengeance Anslem Douglas Potential Symphony Carlon Harewood/Anslem Campbell Latin On De Court De Fosto Redemption Sound Settlers (Tobago) Winston Gordon Puncinelly DeFosto/Superblue Renegades Amrit Samaroo Thunder Chucky Sangre Grande Cordettes Dennis Noel/Shakeer Mitchell Latin On De Court De Fosto Silver Stars Edwin Pouchet Thunder Chucky Sforzata Yohan Popwell Thunder Chucky Skiffle Bunch Ken ‘Professor’ Philmore Time to Breakaway Kerwin Trotman Solo Pan Knights Duvone Stewart Puncinelly De Fosto/Superblue Starlift Anise Hadeed Time to Breakaway Kerwyn Trotman Steel Xplosion (Tobago) Brian “Beab” Griffith Get Down Anthony Johnson T&TEC East Side New Dimension (Tobago) Sydney Joseph Sailors on the Road Roger George T&TEC Power Stars Renwick Lewis Puncinelly De Fosto/Superblue Tokyo Keith Salcedo Pimpulum Pilum Shadow Trinidad All Stars Leon ‘Smooth’ Edwards Thunder Chucky Tropical Angel Harps Clarence Morris Latin on de Court De Fosto Valley Harps Michelle Huggins Watts Celebration Time Steve Sealey.